Skip to main content


The Vacation Time Policy for Non-Academic Staff Employees is Based on Bargaining Unit:

  • Vacation days may be used as they are earned
  • Vacation days are earned for each full calendar month of service
  • Vacation Policy: University Policy 60.3.10
    Revised effective July 1, 2010
    • Union of Rutgers Administrators-American Federation of Teachers (URA-AFT)
      American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees, Locals 1761 and 888 (AFSCME)
      Managerial, Professional, Supervisory, and Confidential (MPSC)
      Doctors Council, SEIU, Local 10MD (Doctors Council)
      International Union of Operating Engineers, Local 68-68A (IUOE)
      Rutgers Council of AAUP Chapters – EOF, AAUP-AFT (EOF)
  • Vacation Policy: University Policy 60.3.20
    Revised effective July 1, 2010
    • Fraternal Order of Police – Primary Unit
      Fraternal Order of Police – Superior Officers
      International Association of Fire Fighters (IAFF)
  • Future increases in vacation accrual rates are based on employee classification and length of service
  • 10-month staff employees accrue vacation time only for the months of September to June
  • Part-time staff employees accrue a prorated amount of vacation time based on the part-time percentage
  • Employees may carry over only a one year allotment of accrued vacation time
  • Excess unused vacation time at the end of the fiscal year will be forfeited (Donate Time to the Compassionate Leave Program)
  • Vacation time must be approved and scheduled in advance
  • Always refer to the appropriate Collective Negotiations Agreement for variations or additional details concerning university policy on vacation days